The Holy Trinity Church in the centre of Leskovac was built in Serbian-Byzantine style in 1931. The base of the church is a square in which there is a cross with five domes.
Its external appearance resembles the Gračanica monastery. External ornamentation is considered to be the most beautiful in the country.
There are three galleries inside, the front one of which is for the choir. There are church chapels to the left and the right of the temple.
The general plan was made by Mr Vasilije Andrasov. The The “Odžaklija” church is part of the church complex of the Cathedral Church, built in 1803 and dedicated to the birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Wide and low, the church looks as if it sunk into the ground.
Not only does it look like that, but it is also really buried for about 1 meter, so as not to catch the eye of the Turkish authorities back then. The church was renovated in 1992 and since then it has been open to the public.
It is unique in that it has a brick chimney, which is not typical of today’s churches. The people of Leskovac made a hearth and a chimney in the church, telling the Turks that they were building a house for their priest.
The old church is a one-nave basilica, it has a porch with arcades and wooden pillars on the south and the west side. “Odžaklija” was built of mudbrick with thick walls.
Alongside the entire vault and in the walls themselves there were clay pots built in, arranged at a distance of one meter each, with the necks facing towards the interior of the church, so one can see small holes in the walls, which contributes to the exceptional acoustics.
The attractiveness of this potential is reflected in the fact that it is located in the centre of the city near other significant tourist attractions.